AOTH-Tim

March AOM – Tim Beringer

What time do you start your day?

6:30 am, I workout in the afternoon/evening most days.

What have you accomplished in your life that you’re most proud of?

Being a husband and a father.

If you could take 3 months off and do whatever you wanted, what would that time look like?

Fishing in Canada with Meghan and my boys. Reading, volunteering, exercising, guitar lessons.

If you were in a band, what existing band/group do you see yourself in?

I can’t sing for shit, so I will stick with an instrument. I have always wanted to play electric guitar, so I would say the Black Keys. But I would want to play their music that came out of Akron, not the overproduced Danger Mouse music that has been released since they moved to Nashville.

Favorite place to travel to?

Lake Baikal, Siberia

What do your kids remind you that’s ok to do?

Being silly … and farting.

What personal failure has helped most lead to your ultimate success?

Being a below average high school athlete and student. I actually got to play basketball with Dave my last three years at Walsh Jesuit …for the one week of tryouts every year … then he played on the basketball team and I moved onto the swim team. Also, somehow I made it on our Academic Challenge team with a 2.8 GPA. I am a late bloomer.

What three people [living or dead] would you go camping with next weekend?

Winston Churchill, Meriweather Lewis, and Bill Murray.

Which sport/activity would you love to do, but are afraid to?

Base jumping

Funniest things you’ve seen your kids do?

When we try to get bathtime started, it rapidly devolves into a rodeo wrangling giggling and naked kids that are running around our house. I am horrified to think what people driving by our living room bay window see every evening.

Favorite movie?

Can’t give just one. Caddyshack, Das Boot, The Searchers, Godfather I & II, and Deadpool are my current top 5 (or 6).

Best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

Take a good look at your fiancée’s mother, as you will be married to that in 30 years. Meghan’s mom is obviously a pretty lady.

At what age were you in the best shape of your life?

Now, 39.5 years old.

Goals … personal, professional, family?

  • Professional – Be successful enough to offer my sons the same or better opportunities than I received.
  • Family – Raise happy well-adjusted children and have a happy wife.
  • Personal – Be more empathetic, stop caring what other people think of me, learn how to play a musical instrument, dunk a basketball again.

Words to live by or favorite quote?

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Past adventure?

Cat/Heli Skiing in Canada every January with my cousin.

Future adventure?

Cat/Heli Skiing in Canada with my boys.

Any position in any team in any sport, what would it be?

Brett Farve’s backup from 1992–2010. 275 Gamedays of no pressure and a great pension. Plus you would still be able to walk upright when you are 50-years-old.

What do you like most about being a part of the TrAk Family?

Getting to work out with great people, in a fun and caring environment. I also take pride that I was selected to receive this recognition before Brock Steere.