AOTH-Kacey

April AOM -Kacey Yates Gable

What time do you start your day?

I used to start the day when the kids got up (7 am) and I struggled to get us all out the door by 8 am. The kids still get up at 7, but at least three days a week I now get up at 5:20 am with workout clothes set out in the bathroom so I can get out the door by 5:50 to get to yoga or TrAk and be back home by 7:10 to get out the door by 8. Those days always go smoother for some reason.

What have you accomplished in your life that you’re most proud of?

I was part of the first class of International Baccalaureate candidates at Firestone. After two very stressful years of accelerated coursework, I was able to step into college with all of my general education classes out of the way. This allowed me to graduate from undergrad in three years instead of four, which in turn allowed me to earn my master’s degree in athletic training by the age of 22.

If you could take 3 months off and do whatever you wanted, what would that time look like?

Since I basically take 3 months off every summer, I probably would do what I always do and spend it with my kids. If money was no option, I would have my parents and husband join us on a cruise or travel through Europe.

If you were in a band, what existing band/group do you see yourself in?

I would be in the Blossom Symphony Chorus. I am a classical singer. I sing at church and love musicals.

Favorite place to travel to?

The best place I have been to is Spain. I really want to go to Italy someday.

What do your kids remind you that it’s OK to do?

Put down your cell phone and be in the moment. They don’t say so much, but I can see it in their faces that they want me to look up and truly see them.

What personal failure has helped most lead to your ultimate success?

I have lost my job twice due to two very different reasons, but both times it has reminded me of how resilient I can be and how much support I have in my husband, Eliot.

What is the craziest thing you’ve seen in the gym?

Donna falling off the rower seat!

What three people [living or dead] would you go camping with next weekend?

I am not a huge fan of camping unless it means I have a mattress, no mosquitoes, and a bathroom. But I would “camp” if I could spend more time with my maternal great grandmother Bertha Leoin, my maternal grandfather Casey (for whom I am named), and my children (I know that makes four, but I would want them both to experience the people that meant the world to me).

Which sport/activity would you love to do, but are afraid to?

I love to bike, but have always wanted to do a triathlon. However, my leg limits me on the running front and I am pretty fearful of deep water so I have never learned to truly swim distance-worthy strokes.

Funniest things you’ve seen your kids do?

My kids make me laugh every day. Both love to create things like costumes, so probably the funniest is a hat Dean made from duct tape and bubble wrap, or when Tori used a large flower box for a bed, but it made her look like she was laying in a coffin.

Favorite movie?

This is hard. My Best Friend’s Wedding, probably, or any other Julia Roberts film, or Sixteen Candles. I’m a sucker for romantic comedies

Best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

Might sound corny and I hated every time she’d say it to me, but “Smile” from my paternal grandmother, Doris. It really does make you feel better and changes your whole attitude if you look at the bright side of things and smile. It will also make others feel better too.

At what age were you in the best shape of your life?

My profile picture in the gym is my wedding day. I was 25. I weighed 125, after losing 20 pounds for that special day. I didn’t remain that weight, but I started biking, rollerblading, and playing soccer again after that and so I was a much healthier and active person for the next few years.

Goals … personal, professional, family?

I honestly don’t know what my goals are. I know I want to lose another 40+ pounds this next year. I want to complete the MS 150: Buckeye Breakaway (formally known as Pedal to the Point), which I have not completed since pre-kids. I would love to be financially able to take my family on a Disney cruise in a few years. I want my kids to grow up healthy and happy and confident.

Words to live by or favorite quote?

My favorite word is passion. If you don’t have a passion for what you are doing, then change it. Life is too short to trudge through it being disappointed and discouraged. Do what you love!

Past adventure?

Went to Costa Rica as a chaperone for a high school trip with one of my favorite teachers, Señor Householder in 2000.

Future adventure?

African Safari with Eliot someday before we’re too old!

Favorite book?

I’m in three book clubs, but mostly for the social aspect. Love hearing others opinions and insights on the books we choose. I’m a fan of suspense novels as well as historical fiction.

Something interesting we don’t know about you?

I have had three abdominal surgeries (and not the liposuction kind — I wish!) and over six surgeries on my left leg. All of which have happened in the last ten years.

Any position in any team in any sport, what would it be?

Athletic Trainer. I love my job. I love to cheer my team on and help the injured return to the game.

What do you like most about being a part of the TrAk Family?

I love that it is a family. We care about everyone else’s successes, failures, and well-being. We check in with each other when someone is missing. We call each other out (in a non-judgemental, humorous way) when we’re not giving our all. We encourage, we celebrate, we support! Plus, I have never felt so comfortable in a “gym.” I even want to pick up a barbell, which I made Dave promise me I would never have to touch.